6 Local Students Selected for Texas Youth Preparedness Council

Waco, TX – Six local students have been selected by the Texas School Safety Center to represent youth throughout the State on the Texas Youth Preparedness Council. Grace Boyer, Kimber Morrison, Kameryn Forrest, Cristal Longoria, Kaitlyn Middlebrook, and Deazhia Medlock have been selected as members of the Council and will work with federal, state, and local partners to increase community preparedness and resiliency. These students will participate in individual and Council projects that are focused on disaster preparedness, hazard mitigation, emergency response, and disaster recovery. These projects will be supported by emergency management and response stakeholders from throughout the state, government officials, and private-sector partners.

All six local students are also members of the Mart High School Teen CERT program. Recently, Mart High School Teen CERT was selected as a 2016 FEMA Individual and Community Preparedness Award recipient for their efforts in disaster response and community public education. In 2015, the team responded at the request of the HOTCOG Homeland Security Division to support waster distribution operations during the Thanksgiving 2015 Water Crisis in Marlin, Texas. In the following months, the team was requested by organizations within the City of Marlin to conduct health and safety fairs and to assist in educating the public on how to improve their individual, home, and workplace preparedness.